MTGO Videos
  • Gankmeister’s SSE #1

    by on Aug.09, 2010, under Draft, Limited, Shadowmoor Block

    No Gravatar

    Hoarding some Morsels.


    :, ,

  • 5 Comments for this entry

    • sdk7No Gravatar

      Snakeform!?? Aww, Snakeform.

    • sdk7No Gravatar

      Nice draft and play across the board by the way.

      I would have built your manabase 11-6 or 10-7 instead of 12-5, and run the Spitemare. Getting an extra Wolf token out of a 7-mana spell vs. having an awesome 4-drop with an extremely relevant ability is no contest in my mind. You also want to be able to play Redcap consistently, because that card is bonkers.

      At the very least, you should be siding Spitemare and a Mountain in r2g2 and r2g3, especially since you’re already siding out Howl.

      Congrats on the win, and I wish I hadn’t gotten so Furystoked in round 2 :(

    • RoninXNo Gravatar

      R2G2 – You have to snakeform when he is attacking you for at when you are at 13. I’m the worst with layers, but after he pumps you should still snakeform the pumper because it saves you one life (and a lot more if I remember my snakeform rulings correctly) and cantrips. The cantrip is very important because you need to draw a land and plan on spending 5 mana mainphase next turn to drop a dude. Now, he had the gale so this is probably moot but you didn’t seem to consider snakeforming in the video so I thought I would point it out.

      *I thought pump effect that were time stamped prior to snake form got negated with the reversion to a 1/1, as opposed to continuous effect [e.g. auras] which are applied at a higher layer (like when your Runed guy got snakeformed in the previous round). This seems to be born out in the rulings, see:

    • RhapsodyguyNo Gravatar

      Yeah, you’re right about Spitemare. I should have altered my mana base and run it over the second Aerie Ouphes.

      I think the rulings indicated that Snakeform would have only saved me that one point of damage. I should have just cycled it, though. The ruling says that it doesn’t overrule p/t modifications from a spell or ability that have already resolved.

    • RoninXNo Gravatar

      “The power/toughness-setting effect overwrites other effects that set power and toughness only if those effects existed before this spell resolved. It will not overwrite effects that modify power or toughness (whether from a static ability, counters, or a resolved spell or ability), nor will it overwrite effects that set power and toughness which come into existence after this spell resolves. Effects that switch the creature’s power and toughness are always applied after any other power or toughness changing effects, including this one, regardless of the order in which they are created.”

      So, the key is that “setting” abilities are like “target land becomes a 4/5″ and “modification” abilities are “+x/+x” abilities. So it would only save one point.

      I think you were right about your manabase. As it happened no one played many flyers against you, but that was really your weakest point, so I like the double Ouphes main. It may have been worth siding in the Spitemare in most of those matches though.

      As an aside, I just love this format….

    Leave a Reply

    You must be logged in to post a comment.

    Looking for something?

    Use the form below to search the site:

    Still not finding what you're looking for? Drop a comment on a post or contact us so we can take care of it!

    Visit our friends!

    A few highly recommended friends...